Stock market / investment - what to do with small savings

Daly87

Hi there,

I have been saving some funds for the past two years with no real idea or plan what to do with it. I have saved $50k, play money for some on here I assume but a lot to me. I live in central Sydney earning around $110 as an engineer, so housing is out of my reach for where I currently want to live. And no, dont want to move to a cheaper suburb as I LOVE where I am.

As the 'high interest' bank accounts are a measly 2.5% I have been thinking of investing in stocks. This is very new to me and I am still struggling to get my head around them but my initial research is leading me to Vanguard Index or diversified ETFs. This seem 'safe' as opposed to investing in companies that needs me to understand the company values, board of directors, business models etc etc.

Is there any experienced members on here that would like to offer their 2c? I am not asking for any sure tips or information but more a discussion on how others have approach the subject as newbies and how you grew.

I should point that I am looking long term, retirement type investing (I am 30yo) not buy low sell high day trader investing.

I am also interested in how to understand and calculate dividends returns, is it possible to earn a reasonable retirement income  with dividends from investing now?

Hi.  Couple of questions first?

Do you wish to access he funds and or interest or just have them sitting there locked away until you are 60+?

Do you have super fund?  Self managed or through your employer?

Do you want some money to spend every six months with your initial investment locked in and fixed, or are you ok to make some money to spend every six to twelve months but not worried if the $50K goes up and down in value?

If you are truly talking "long term / retirement" type stuff, are you maxing out your super contributions up to the 30k mark per year?   The younger you start this the better you'll be at the other end,