My Martini RSR build project

patrick911

Hi everyone,

My name is Patrick, I'm originally from The Netherlands, and I bought a light yellow 1973 911 2.4T just before the prices went crazy, and am now in the process now of building a 2.8 RSR. I have a thread going on the early911sregistry in the US, and regularly post on the 'Classic Porsche Australia' FB page, but I figured I may as well share my project here, as I hope to get some advise on where to buy stuff and get recommendations for certain jobs.

So although I have a degree in telecomms, I'm a program manager nowadays and until I started this project had never worked on cars. Yes, I replaced the odd lightbulb or battery, but knew little about the inner workings of a car. Call it midlife crisis, or maybe just boredom, I like to think that I really needed to do something myself, being a manager by profession, rather than getting others to do the work.

Anyway, even though I drive my yellow T often and hard, I always liked the RSR better. Not for the sheer performance, although for a car in 1973 getting over 300bhp out of a 2.8/3.0L engine was pretty damn impressive, it's the combination of looks, performance, the Martini livery of that car and the fact i had an inspirational chat once with Gijs van Lennep, who drove one of these cars to victory on the Targa Florio.

I believe there's only 55 real RSRs ever built by Porsche, so getting my hands on an original is never going to happen. And because I like to have a car that is as close as possible to the real deal, most of the project/RSR clones for sale didn't do it for me or were too expensive. Plus, i felt the need to built something myself.