Cold start problem 1982 911 SC

TheBaywatchKid

I bought my SC about a month ago, knowing that it had a warm start issue. If it was within a few hours of me running it, I would try to start, and it would just crank and crank and never start. The only way I could get it started, was to pop the engine cover, and manually flip up the air dump valve.  I suspected Fuel accumulator, given it only was an issue when warm. I'm still very new to 911's so my diagnosis skills are rudimentary. My mechanic tested the fuel pressures, and it was indeed not holding fuel pressure. I had the fuel accumulator replaced and now there is no issue with warm starts. 

On warm starts, it fires immediately and it idles around 900.

The issue now is that on cold starts, regularly the car will crank for quite a while, and then splutter and start after 4-5 seconds. Still have not had it never start, but nearly every time on cold starts now it takes a while to fire up, and it seems to be taking longer to fire over time. 

In terms of what I should be doing, I assume buy a fuel pressure test kit, and test all 4 pressures as per https://www.pelicanparts.com/911/technical_specs/Testing_Bosch_CIS.htm

Check fuel filter. 

Anything else? Thanks in advance! Looking forward to getting my hands dirty in this. 

Just as a possible quick fix ...

When I started my SC, I would turn on the ignition (dash lights on) and wait till the radio came on (only a couple of seconds) ... this gave the fuel pump a chance to “charge” the system.

I had the same hot start issues as you and fixed it the same way you did. With my few second delay starting procedure, I never had a cold start issue.

Worth a shot at least ..... 😁

I assume that all earths are great.  I always add an additional one to the body and ensure there is no resistance within the one from the starter to the body.  I have lost track of how many problems result from inadequate earthing.