Sign in to follow this  
Pazzer71

Cayenne Diesel or what?

Hi everyone

I'm a Porsche newbie, never owned one, and thinking of taking the plunge on a Cayenne 3.0D. We need a bigger car for family trips + my daily commute. Budget around $40k. The dilemma always comes down to:

New Korean family barge - will have all the toys

But could get a Cayenne for the same money...! Albeit 8/9 years old, no warranty, and a bit exotic

Currently have a Lexus IS250 which is ultra dependable and reliable, and a Skoda Yeti which is unreliable and has put me off DSG boxes for life. So I may have some bias against VAG (should that include Porsche?)

Interested to get some views. Cayenne good/bad or what alternatives?

Cheers all

Spend your $40K on a Kia or Hyundai.  7 year warranty and many years of worry free motoring with all the modern tech.  You will not have that with the 9 year old Porsche and parts and labour will cost a fortune.   

Just went down this path - see thread 

for lots of comments and the final result.

Spoiler - Lucky Phil nailed the advice above despite not contributing to my other thread.

Also hate DSG boxes with a passion which drove me out of consideration of anything VAG, which was my first port of call.  They drive like crap and you can't get past the ticking time bomb feeling when you feel it clutch slipping to maintain low speed manouvres

Thanks for the responses. Must admit I expected a more enthusiastic support for a Cayenne from this forum! Perhaps that is telling...

Also considering a Merc GLC

Wildcard value option could be a Renault Koleos...pretty stylish, well equipped...not sure about build quality though?

On 29/01/2021 at 13:55, Pazzer71 said:

Thanks for the responses. Must admit I expected a more enthusiastic support for a Cayenne from this forum! Perhaps that is telling...