Porsche Fuel Injection History

Coastr

This post is just a rambling round up of fuel injection systems as fitted to Porsches over the years.  It comes out of a discussion thread where I was rambling on the topic, others said it was (kind of) interesting and thought it would make a good post.  I'm not an expert, have never worked in the industry or studied engineering.  Just an interested person who likes to understand how stuff works and how technology evolves over time.  I'll write for the person who really doesn't know that much about it.  I'll have made mistakes and feel free to call out and correct them where they lay.  I know it's long - pixels are cheap and skip by if you're not the reading type.  I did take my basic knowledge and fact check, but as Abraham Lincoln said, don't trust everything you read on the internet.

For me, the interest in german cars in general and fuel injection in particular comes from my childhood where we had a 280 SE with the M130 straight six.  Car model names was a fascination for me - why did our family falcon wagon say 'Falcon GL' (answer: no reason), but the benz said '280 SE' (answer 280 [2.8 litre], s-class [sonderklasse], injected [einspritzen]).  Also why was the Benz faster than the falcon, and why did it run so much better (The Falcon, despite being virtually new, often wouldn't start in cold weather).  Lots of answers but I much preferred the look of the benz engine than the round-air-cleaner look of the 4.1 Ford motor.  I loved the benz and the way it buzzed up the road.  It was also air-conditioned, a real luxury at the time.