First Porsche, 987.2 Boxster S

Quick introduction. My name is Ross, and I'm new to Porsches and euro cars altogether. For the last five years I've had a Mondeo wagon for work, and an NB MX5 as a weekend car first, then a dual-duty road/track car, now becoming a race car. Here it is:

36192100065_01ece950a2_b.jpg

My wife and I picked up our first Porsche on Friday night. About a month ago we were down at Norwell watching the MX5 club sprints, which happened to feature a couple of Porsche club guests as well. After 5 minutes of watching a 987.1 doing some laps, she decided she didn't want a new Mustang anymore, instead she wanted a Boxster. We began looking around and decided we didn't want anything early enough to risk the IMS issue, it had to be auto as she can't drive manual, and I hate slushbox autos so it needed to be recent enouugh to have PDK.. We found a MY2011 987.2 Boxster S locally, with PDK and 70,000km on the clock. We managed to contact the seller to find out that he was out of the country for a few weeks. We waited, went and had a look when he got back, and agreed to buy it pretty much on the spot. It's been extremely well maintained, and has a few options that we both are very happy to have, namely the sports exhaust with the magic noise button, and the 12 way electric seats. I haven't made use of anything in the Sports Chrono Plus pack yet, but that'll come soon enough...

Between Friday night and Sunday afternoon I did about 850km; 380 heading out to watch the Porsche club sprints at Morgan Park, and another few hundred going over Beechmont, through Canungra to O'Reilly's Plateau, back down and then over the top of Mt Tamborine on the way home. I have to say it's the most comfortable car I've ever owned. Essentially it has everything the MX5 had going for it dialled up to 11, without sacrificing anything at all. Sound, speed and acceleration, balance, comfort, everything.

Here it is somewhere on Beechmont road:

_D4_0024_1920