Buying tips for a 928

redgum78

Hi Everyone,

I am looking at buying a 928.

Any buying tips or common problems to look out for would be appreciated.

I know my way around cars but I have had little experience with Porsche.

If this topic already exits could someone put up a link to it?

Thanks

Dan

Welcome Redgum.

You and me both! No personal experience with one but will have soon (one day...)

Cars seem pretty bullet proof, but regular maintenance is paramount. Timing belt/ water pump are big ones to watch for, plus others.

Owners should chime in here soon. Buy the best one you can afford. Are you looking for early or late one?

Goodluck!

I've PMed you, but a good place to start is reading the stickys on the Rennlist 928 forum 

http://rennlist.com/forums/928-forum-69/

Cars are typically very bullet proof, but deferred/ delayed / not performed maintenance by previous owners is the thing to watch out for, catchup costs can end up costing more than the purchase price of the car.  If the seller can't provide you with proof that the cam/timing belt has been changed in the last couple of years, then factor that this needs to be changed as a priority as soon as you take ownership.  This is particularly important with the interference engines (all 5.4 l, all 5.0 l and some of the 4.7l I engines).  Water pumps are usually done at the same time.  Also pay attention to anything rubber such as hoses, while there's nothing really wrong with the 928 designn, 30 year old rubber will be gtting close to it's use-by date so factoring such things as new fuel hoses and brake hoses should be seriously considered - there are a number of carbeques reported on the above forum that attest to this.