FUCHS WANTED FOR 89 WIDE BODY 911

PORSCHE VIRGIN

Hi all, after having just taken delivery of my 89 Wide Body Carrera I want to consider placing a set of original FUCH rims on the car to make it look factory. Is anyone aware of the exact size of the original FUCH rims for a wide body? (please excuse my ignorance I am new to this caper)

Also, what would I expect to pay for a set in good condition that do not require any form of reconditioning??

If the cost for a set is prohibitive (and I have been told it is hard to find good tires for these rims sizes) then maybe I should consider a set of replicas in a larger diameter rim size that will enable more tyre choice??

If this is the case what is a good manafacturer of FUCH replicas??

Any assistance in relation to the above would be greatly appreciated. My handle tells you about the knowledge I have on these cars so I really appreciate the assistance of you guys and gals.

Cheers

ROB

Hey there mate,

I thought I might add some my thoughts as I am going through the same process. From what I have been able to find out, most (I could be wrong) of Aus delivered 930's came with 8 inch rear fuch's. In order to get 9 inch rears, you will have to find a set from an import. This so far has been very difficult for me to find. The last set I heard of were for sale at $4000 and they needed a good refurb. Big bucks! I have since decided to purchase some copies (which can be sourced from pelican parts) but the problem is that they are on back order for at least another month. You can however purchase some 17 inch wheels.

For further reference, Stuckeys in Brunswick have been able to source 265 wide tyres for the 16 inch version which I believe will look tough.

Jim

Hey there mate,