911 3.2

Dom

I'm new at this, love the site. Looking to purchase my 1st 911 (been dreaming since I was a kid). Have seen a silver 1988 3.2 with 183kms, looks good to my inexperienced eye. What should I pay for it? Thanks

It's like everyone stopped buying 3.2's about a year ago when their value peaked.  

At that time $115 to 120k was the going price for the car you describe (the one on Carsales I guess) from a dealer.  However the seller's all still seem to think those heady days are still here and don't seem to have awoken to the fact no-ones buying at those prices anymore.

This market confusion of course doesn't help you at all if you're in the market for a sensibly priced car to buy right now.  The SC's on the other hand appear to have had their correction and there seems to be some changing hands so that might be a better sandpit to play in for the time being.

Yeah, I know, not a 3.2 but.......  

8 minutes ago, Peter M said:

It's like everyone stopped buying 3.2's about a year ago when their value peaked.  

At that time $115 to 120k was the going price for the car you describe (the one on Carsales I guess) from a dealer.  However the seller's all still seem to think those heady days are still here and don't seem to have awoken to the fact no-ones buying at those prices anymore.

This market confusion of course doesn't help you at all if you're in the market for a sensibly priced car to buy right now.  The SC's on the other hand appear to have had their correction and there seems to be some changing hands so that might be a better sandpit to play in for the time being.

Yeah, I know, not a 3.2 but.......  

Thanks for replying Peter. Correct, dealer has it. It has been sitting there for about 8 weeks and they are firm on price. 

I'm going back into the dealer on Monday, guess I'll see how I go. Love it but don't want to pay top dollar.....

Thanks again

Dom,