964 Suspension on early car?

Nein_11

Hi Guys,

Been away for a little trying to raise some funds and get my ideas settled for my build.

A side note, I have done plenty of searching and haven't been able to locate a build anywhere where someone has used a complete 964 suspension set up bolted onto an older shell. Is this possible?

I would like to run coilovers and this seems like a relatively good way to do it!

Cheers, Nico

I think the consensus would be to find a 964 shell and bolt some older panels onto it, rather than trying to find an early torsion tube car, and bolting on coil suspension.   This is one of the reasons Singer uses 964s as donor cars.

Thank's for the quick response Coastr!

The thing is I already have the old girl and as I have begun working on her am falling in love... Would rather convert to coilovers if possible (Without the elephant racing bill shock) and get to keep her! Also 964's are out of my price range at the present moment :(

Well I am not an expert on suspension, and I'm sure there is always a way to get what you want.   Plenty of people with older cars have got theirs exactly how they want without ditching torsion tubes - I'm sure someone can suggest the best way forwards.  

look at elephant racing and places like that heaps of people running coil overs on these old cars and to be honest there is nothing wrong with torsion  bars you can run them in conjunction with your coil overs.

Neon_11 it's funny you should ask.

I was talking a similar talk with one of the technician's here at Autohaus Hamilton yesterda, looking at the underneaths of a 993, and asking essentially the same question that you are asking.

It's a non-trivial task, because there are subframes that the suspension is attached to on the 993 and 964, and the suspension arms are very different to those on a 911 so it's not simply a question of moving the later car's coilover shocks across.