78 SC Cork Interior Refurb

Dusty

Thought I'd document my efforts at bringing this cars interior back to something a bit... nicer. I'm not going for a concourse winning car but don't want a bodge job either. Unfortunately I've got no upholstery experience so I'll be learning on the job and therefore taking things very slowly. Also keen for tips/advice if anyone cares to share. 

Here was the starting point: 

78SCCurrentInterior_zps6dbe5608.jpg578F5F27-094B-4EC2-88CA-DE28766378A4_zps

Priorities after a major clean were replacing the front seats, getting all the instruments working & lit and repairing the original silverknit carpet to something that doesn't look like a labradors basket, it's pretty far gone and will one day be replaced but not yet.

After a bit of search for seats and going in the wrong direction by purchasing a black interior with pasha inserts, SteveT came through with a pair of full leather chairs from his '76 Targa, thanks again mate.

They were in good overall condition except for a few flaws but didn't quite colour match any of the other 78 shades of cork that were already in my car. I've therefore embarked on dyeing the interior to get some consistency amongst it all. 

Here's the before shots of the fronts seats:

IMG_2757_zps6505b7f5.jpg

IMG_2749_zps3986ab58.jpg

Mid-way - after cleaning/prepping and the first coat of dye:

DSCF3862_zps2578d817.jpg

Unintended consequences... Such a lovely colour 

DSCF3858_zps8bc00c53.jpg

And the finished product:

DSCF3868_zpsf21650ca.jpg

without flash

DSCF3867_zpsd06cea10.jpg

DSCF3869_zpsb6b1d24f.jpg