987.2 Boxster S - purchasing advice please

Trogdor

Hi All,

I'm new to PFA and was hoping to get some advice from all the experts here.

I've been looking a for a second hand "fun" car - and have my heart set on getting a 987.2 Boxster S PDK.

I went and test drove one today for the first time - was very impressed. Surprised at how comfortable it was, and in Sport mode how quick it was (Sport Plus mode seems to be a bit over the top). The one I test drove had the Sport Exhaust button - which seems to be a mandatory option in my mind - i.e. go from civilised to quite loud and amazing sounding depending on the mood or the appropriateness of the location!!

2009 - 2011 seems like the sweet spot in terms of bang for buck - as from my research it seems the IMS problems of the 987.1 had been rectified (I believe the 987.2 with PDK does not have an IMS) whilst the release of the 981 has meant the values for 987.2 are << 50% of new driveaway (incl options prices). Is that right?

Three questions:

- what would a good to reasonable price be for a 2009 Boxster S PDK with Sport Chrono, Sports Exhaust, 19" black wheels, and Nav - 50k km on the ODO, and in OK-ish condition (a few scuffs here and there on the interior - consistent with a 5 year old car, maybe a tad on the "could have been more careful" side)? Car is a dealer sale, but not a Porsche or large dealer (think small independent used prestige car dealer type place).

- How often do these come up with PDK, Nav, Sports Chrono and Sports Exhaust options? I.e. are these common options or unusual? I.e. how long would the wait be til the next one in this configuration comes up?

- I were to make an offer - would Porsche Brighton be OK to get an independent inspection done by (I live bayside in Melb) as a "subject to my satisfaction" condition on the contract of sale?

Thank you in advance.

My guess would be around the $60k - $65k mark.