SA power / Gas companies

reax

Does anyone have anything good, bad or indifferent to say about the SA power companies. Moving in a month and need to connect the new home. So far the only thing I have found out is SA has one of the dearest electricity prices in the known world.

Replacing all your power generation with windmills tends to make it a tad expensive! I think you can only pay up and bask in the glow of 'saving the planet' with your sacrifice. Hopefully the voters in this county will eventually come to their senses and put a stop to it. I'm not holding my breath.

I've been working with fast jet aircraft for over 25 years. I have killed that many dinosaurs testing and troubleshooting during full power runs I have lost count. Actually, I think I have burnt more avatar in one week than I have used unleaded in my entire driving life. So I am with you Coastr.

I'm just with AGL here mate. Any disputes we've had regarding bills etc have been sorted out very quickly, not like independent operators, who I have heard take forever to get back to you and sort it out.

Heard good and bad about various companies, yet we just can't be arsed changing to be honest.

Yes, we are the dearest state for just about everything (government are a bunch of lying d...heads) We're looking into solar in the new year

Aren't most of increased power prices for to the costs of infrastructure?

The power companies invested in a bunch of poles and wires etc and totally misestimated the future demand. Their cost modeling did not anticipate an exodus to solar and what's happening now is customers are covering the costs of those projects...

We are with Simply Energy. Pay on time and get a 15% discount. Don't think we had to lock in to a contact. We have LPG in 45kg bottles in these there hills for just north of a hundred bucks delivered, but I hear the city folk have gas in pipes (through various retailers).

Think they are all much of a muchness.