996 Turbo owners & optimal manual gear change timing

Thommo66

This may sound like a weird topic for those of you who are seasoned P drivers.  But having had my turbo now for around 4 months and it being my first P I am still learning how to drive it " well ".

I drove a PDK 2016 991 Carerra yesterday with a mate.  Obviously it's PDK and so it's going to be very different but it feels like my 996tt gear change from 1st to 2nd is incredibly short and I'm just wondering whether I'm not keeping my foot down long enough in 1st and allowing the revs to hit 4 or 5k or I should keep doing what I am and get out of 1st as fast as possible into 2nd.

The overriding objective being as fast out of the blocks as possible.  For the sake of the discussion assume I'm trying to get from 0-100.

Now I know not all 996 turbo's are equal and many have been modified.  Mine is stock standard - no mods.

Keen to get some feedback notwithstanding I'm sure a driving course at some stage would help ! 

Assuming it's a manual? From 1st to 2nd feels short coz it gets there so quick hehheh . Well if youré giving it to it and I'm not talking dragstrip but trying to get near on the most out of it in a general sense and still want to look after the car -  and I don't mean high revs and dump the clutch. Look after the mechanicals somewhat! (clutches wear sooner or later anyway) Get the revs up and get it hooked up quick and soon as you see the region of 6000 shift to second, clutch in and out quick, and then the same through to third etc. I would never slam my turbos into gear it's not how to look after a car, totally unnecessary anyway, it aint a dragstrip and if it was you'd be better with an auto all day long

0 - 100 huh? well you're nearly there in first!:huh:

6 minutes ago, Troubleshooter said: