insurance? service? pre-purchase-inspection?

greetings

I am looking to buy a 2004-2006 997 (early 997, Gen 1), non-turbo, base model, rear drive.

I am a male, 54 years old, insurance rating 1.

Given I am new to Porsche and new to buying a used car (been buying brand new Mercedes and BMW cars for last 20+ years) I have some "rookie" questions:

1. Which insurance companies do you recommend?

2. Who should I use for PPI and how much it should cost?

3. Where should I take it for services and repairs?

4. If buying from reputable dealer such as Porsche Brighton or Porsche Richmond with warranty - should I still do PPI?

Thanks!

PPI it wherever you're buying it, it is highly possible you will buy an interstate car, most of us end up doing that for some reason or another? I don't know, its bloody weird, but it happens more often than not I'd say?

If you search, or ask we can recommend someone in any part of Aus really. Typically PPI costs between $300-500~ depending on how extensive it is? Engine compression test adds hours but its not so much an issue with these later model wartercooled beetles. I have read quotes as high as $800 mind you :lol:

If buying from PCM or PCB I'd trust them enough, but you can opt for an independent evaluation if that makes you feel comfortable... I've dealt with PCM people, they are good bunch. Cant speak for PCB sorry.

Insurance, the usual Shannon's, Lumley special vehicles OR even try NRMA and other major companies, when In was looking at 997, NRMA would insure it. Shop around.

Porsche service isn't that much dearer that most independent I have found..  so for scheduled services, I would recommend going there plus it is good on your resale.. for major items like tyres, brakes etc.. I do those on the gypsy DIY missions because you can save a packet. 

Good luck mate! 

1. Shannons are generally pretty good, worth a look.