928 Tool Kit Contents

foxint

Hi Guys

Great forum. I am just new to the whole 928 thing....very daunting.

Does anyone have a list of what is in the tool kit? Mine is missing stuff and not knowing what is missing with bands/sizes is making things a little hard.

Thanks for all your efforts.

Dan

might be worth a phone call to the dealer spare parts. Last time I got prices a 944/928 toolkit was $250 ish complete and brand new (less than the cost of the individual bits) but the 911 one was $600

Hi Guys

Thank you.

I will give the dealer a call....but as well all know they are not cheap....

Does anyone have a list of what is supposed to be there?? Good photos. What I have is total rubbish, when I compare them to my Sthalwille tools. My thinking is even if I can pick up the cheaper say Hazet tools (if that is what was there), it may be cheaper than the "real" stuff.

I was told that in the past, K-mart has a set of pliers that were the exact copies of those in the kit. As we all know no one is ever expected to use any of the tools.

Dan

Dan,

If you download the PET parts listing for your car from the Porsche Classic technical page, usually on page 2 or 3 there will be a full listing of all the tools that make up the kit. 

However if you want a kit to help you get your car going next time it falters rather than an anorak's originality wank, I recall someone posted a thread on this topic and some of the suggestions like StewF's were excellent. 

Welcome, some pics of your 928 please.

$250 for all tools from a dealer sounds like good value, shop around the UK and US sites too. Mine has one tool in it I think, and one day I may replace them but not high on my priority list. 928s don' t break down anyway, well not much...... :)

However if you want a kit to help you get your car going next time it falters rather than an anorak's originality wank, I recall someone posted a thread on this topic and some of the suggestions like StewF's were excellent.