Street Tyres

Nick JH

Hi Gang 

I'm new to the Porsche scene but im basically looking for some street tyres for my 3.2 Carrera any recommendations as I was thinking Toyo R888. Or are these to much for the street as I probably won't be going on the track. I was also contemplating going a little wider on the back I'm currently running 205 fronts and 225 on the backs. 

Cheers Nick

You'll get a few opinions but I have had Bridgestone Potenza RE002s on my SC for the past 7 years (on 2nd set just in case anyone is fretting about old tyres), driven in all conditions (and occasionally on track though no racing)  and couldn't be happier.

RE003's in standard widths

If you want to fill out the rear guards run 23mm spacers

Notice the RE's won the important to us slalom and the dry handling parts of the Wheels 2017 tyre comparison and came 2nd overall so Tazzie and I aren't the only fanboys.

Also they're inexpensive especially if you wait for the regular 4 for the price of 3 deals

Personally I would not get Toyo R888's for the street as you may not get sufficient heat into them driving on the road meaning less than optimal performance.

I have had Bridgestone RE003 and was happy with them in terms of grip, wear and price.

Personally I don't like Bridgestone S001, I found them to have amazing grip but they didn't gve much warning when they let go.  I get the sense they ar designed for bigger heavier cars like HSV's so that extra weight may assist in giving warning bit on a lighter car like your SC these would not be my preference.

Ah yes Bridgestone ok will look into prices on these thanks

The re003's look sweet 

wouldn't bother,  I only have them because they are still good.  Come replacement time I will be fitting re003's  on rear too,  they are a better all round tyre. (Newer tyre, better technology I think)