996 HID Lamps - Regency Inspection Issues SA

Hi There,

Im new to this, ive had my 996 for about 2 weeks im in Adelaide. The Car is a Singapore import originally but to get it registered ive had to have a full inspection and they picked me up on 2 things, one the rear spoiler impeding the view of the brake light (I can live with that and have a solution coming) but the other is difficult. I have HID lamps and it looks stock from the factory  but the inspection report says "headlights are HID, return to standard H type of globe or fit self washing / self leveling lights". I went to Buicks and apparently it isn't as simple as swapping out globes. Any advice or help or parts to get me through the inspection I would hugely appreciate.

Ive been told to get in touch with Leigh?

Not sure if im supposed to provide my number but here it is 0409235055 - Michael. FYI, I love the car and im happy with it.

Thanks in advance for the use of this platform.

Welcome to the Forum.

Was your 996 registered in another State before SA - if yes, then that ruling for your lights is a super high level of nitpicking by inspectors.

I imported a nearly new car from Japan with HIDs & it didnt have headlight washers. It was a pain to put ordinary globes in and then put the HIDs back in later. My suggestion is to see if you can borrow some correct headlights to get you through the test.

The 996 was in VIC for 4 years and QLD for 9, I just got it from QLD it was registered in each of those states so yeah, its all pretty frustrating, but I gotta play the little game I guess...

Zelrik911 - Your second paragraph sums up what I need to do I think, I am not sure if my wiring looms and plugs ect will fit, thats my concern, but if there is anyone in Adelaide who thinks they may be able to help, ill be forever in your debt and I will not mess you around.

Thanks for the you tube video, its amazing what knowledge you gain in a short period of time when you have to....