996 Cabriolet

I was driving home from work yesterday and I saw an immaculate 996 Cab, silver, with the roof down he was just cruising...

I thought to myself that it would have looked pretty good in my garage...

A few good ones for sale around the$40 - $45k mark too.. glad I am not in the position to buy right now. Sort out the IMS and I imagine that you have what must be one very capable cruiser / sportscar....

I went through this a while ago (months). The fact that they seem to be listed from $35k upwards is amazing, for what was once well over $200K only 10-15 years ago. I'm not an expert by any means, but I know most people run away from the 996 for various reasons:

- the first watercooled porsche and hence not a "real porsche"

- funny headlights the same as the boxster

- ims problems

- rear seals

But, for $40k you can have a 220kw 911 !!!

Yes, if you get one, spend the extra $2k and get the IMS done. Lots of peace of mind. Get a hard top if you can.

If you can find the updated version with the 3.6litre, thats even better. I believe less problems, and slightly more power. It is the one to have of the 996.

I ended up with a Cayman... but still wish it had a 911 badge!

I agree I think the 996 Cab is awesome. Excellent value for money. I came very close to pulling the trigger on a speed yellow 996 Cab but the dealer refused my offer, only to drop the price to that of my offer just a few weeks later. By then I drove the 2.7 987 and decided to go as new as I could.

There's a lot of Internet hysteria around these cars, plus the odd independent P mechanic that will also put the fear of god in you when asking if they are a good buy.

It's such a shame if your selling one and if you are buying one, a buyers market.

I could totally see me with a 997 Cab one day but then again the 981 would also be in my price range by that time :P

Yeah some good points for sure..