UPDATE-SE Qld Tech Day-Sunday May 24

twood

Russ has offered to wipe any oil spills, I have sweep the garage and Steiny has not driven the 997 to warrant an oil and filter change.

What are we going to do? One of the 944 guys asked if he could look at his transmission linkage? Who needs an oil change just to keep Russ occupied?

I have set the day aside so let me know if you have a job that the 2 post hoist will make easier. Come along even if you have no jobs and just enjoy the company - Porsches take priority. 

Sunday May 24 start at around 9.30am- some idea of numbers is appreciated but not essential. PM me for address or contact details. I am in Coorparoo.

I have an engine that could do with a quick rebuild.......

Y

Already ahead of you in the queue. I estimated that 10 of us could do four hours each and that would make 40 hours work. Enough to rebuild my engine in one day

Apparently I used to work in IT.

So far we are rebuilding Flatsix's engine, Mikes's 901 gearbox plus install parts to a top end and air intake (I always get nervous around people with latex gloves) but I am wondering what are going to do for the rest of the morning?

I could hook up the air compressor if anyone needs a respray.Russ, you could be busy-bring lots a paper towel.

Anyone need an address to where it will all be happening. 

Ken,

It was great to watch today.  I further understand why I must allow the (so called) experts do the work on my car. Stayed only a short while, but long enough to get some vital photos of the inner workings of a QLD Tech Day.

I was explaining to my 5yo (Lachie-Dan) the different parts under the 944.   I came to the front and said thats the engine here between the two front wheels.   He said out aloud "The engine's in the front ?   But this is a Porsche !"   He was most horrified.   I think Ken is also looking for the engine back there ?

17845953399_b702c07c15_z.jpg

This little light got his attention

18033029531_2a79941200_z.jpg