Newbie in Sydney

Hi everyone! I am new to both the forum and Porche cars (misses dad has a 911 996 back in the uk, does that count as experience?)

I usually have some form of interesting cars, my most fav was a ‘99 Supra twin turbo in near immaculate factory form (no Stupid body kits and exhausts). But recently I was given a company car and thought I could enjoy the money being saved... I was wrong. I am now looking at something to keep in the garage for a bit of fun.

i am looking at Boxster S 986 range, purely because they offer all I need for a blast in the twistys, sound great, I have never owned a convertible and lastely they are priced very well for what they provide!

This is probably a bit of a strange question to ask but is there any nice owners of a Boxster S 986 that would like to show me their car and take me for a spin? The owner of this car is an old retired man and I can’t get a feel for the car dialled into ‘fun’ setting while I test drove it.

Hopefully I can show you pictures soon ?

Colin

Welcome to the forum ...Just to help you make a good decision, Colin....Good luck with your hunt, I used to have a 986S Tiptronic.

Great choice of car.   The thing that comes out of this little clip is...make sure you get a PPI done before forking out the dollars.

Don't own a boxster sorry however agree they are fabulous bang for your buck. Boxster 986s won PCOTY in 99 and ... I think 02, beating a GT3 and GT2 in the process.

It is really difficult to get a feel for a car prior to purchase. You can test drive them, however until you get one and go for a long, uninterrupted drive it's impossible to really know. Coming from the Supra, I imagine the Boxster might feel a little low in the power department. If you are mentally able to handle that, I'm not sure being driven around in someone else's car will help you that much. Do spend the $ to get a PPI done though, no Pcars are inexpensive to put right and can tarnish the whole ownership experience.