86 3.2 to early 70's outlaw

Sam Ball

Hi guys have just paid the deposit on an 86 euro spec 3.2 with john zaghoul at zag automotive up in Sydney whom I'm sure many of you will - I'm no expert but his builds look amazing so can't wait.

Fell in love with the singer Nebraska car and discovered the whole backdate scene which I never knew existed- so was wrapped to find John who has been backdating 911's for years.

The idea is to build a daily driver, but still try and maximise power without going too over the top - love the sound of the fabspeed cat bypass and either a one out or two out muffler with a chip- from what I've read that seems to give the best immediate games at a reasonable price?

So early days with the car only starting to be stripped in the new year but will post photos as I get them

One question John was suggesting running 8x16 all round but with wider tyres on the rear- thought that 9's were pretty standard on the rear but has anyone done this option with 8's or have any shots. The plan is to keep the arches as is John said they are the same as the RS so basically an early 70's RS without ducktail

Would appreciate any suggestions thanks

Here is the car- imported from Japan with only 51,260 Ks!

post-2015-0-51760700-1416644823_thumb.jp

post-2015-0-85452200-1416644854_thumb.jp

post-2015-0-33652300-1416644869_thumb.jp

• Replies 99
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Running 9" Fuchs on the rear with the standard body shouldn't be an issue. 8" Fuchs on the front with standard offsets would be tight IMO, but as you say he's been doing it for a while so I'm guessing he may know better?

Look forward to seeing it progress.

Thanks guys yeah, he has a 12 month wait and initially committed to the car in April so has been 7 months already - wife is totally over it!