18 Inch Wheels & Tyres for 996 Track Use Questions

RennRob

Hi,

After discovering track days this year I am thinking of getting some separate wheels for track day use. I have been told by other relatively new track drivers that a set of R-specs make a big difference. My car has the X51 kit and sports suspension so am looking at tyres as the first 'mod'.

I'm sure this has been discussed here before, but I can't seem to find a relevant thread.

I am driving a 2001 996 C2 on 18" GT3 (look) wheels and was hoping for some insights on the below:

Tyres- R Spec?

I would need to be able to drive on the track wheels from my home to the track and back.

I am a track newbie, so need 'forgiving' tyres, ie ones that will give me some warning before trying to kill me.

Where to buy them?

Thoughts on need to get tyres 'zapped' http://www.gordonleven.com/zapped4racing/about/ 

Wheels

Am looking for second hand wheels. There are a few on ebay

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Genuine-Porsche-996-911-GT3-18-inch-wheels-PCD-5x130-18x8-ET50-18x11-ET63-/142527758409?hash=item212f510049:g:kCsAAOSw8P5Z1IxR 

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/18-inch-Genuine-PORSCHE-911-CARRERA-S-996-SERIES-2-ALLOY-WHEELS-V-RARE-/252909760049?hash=item3ae298ae31:g:H00AAOSwXeJYHbD5 

Apart from Porsche wheels, what are my other options, and would they need any mods (spacers?) to fit my car?

A few questions here, so thanks in advance for your help.

Rob

while the first set are cheap for genuine gt3 wheels but will likely need spacers, the second set will fit your car well and are actually one of the lighter sets offered by Porsche so great for track days.

Thanks Trev. One of the guys at the last PCNSW track day was sporting these on his 993 for that reason.  

Depends what level you want to drive at?? 

If you want to drive it to its limit, then R specs are the go! But they will get you about 4, maybe 5 days at best of racing at optimal grip.