Thinking about a 911 996 C4S?

Jed

Hi all. - I'm a newbie here so hoping to get some tips from those that are much more knowledgable!

I've been thinking about getting a 996 C4S for many years, but they have always been too$ for me. I have started looking again in the last few months and see that they have come down a fair bit in price. I've seen them as the best compromise between the great but probably traffic-impractical 911TT, and the standard carrera.

I have seen the following C4S on carsales, and on the dealer's website as well (prestige auto traders at rozelle). It look swell optioned and based on the 5 minutes I had to look at it the other day whilst I was driving past, appears to be in reasonable condition.

http://www.carsales.com.au/dealer/details/porsche-911-carrera-2003-13171422?base=1216&vertical=Car&cr=11&eapi=2&__N=1216+4294696630+1246+1247+1252+1282+4294963765+4294963638&num=15&silo=Stock&sort=~Price

Of course I'd be getting a PPI on the car, and have done all the usual "research" on various forums and websites over the years, so know about the potential RMS and IMS issues on these models i'm also keen to know whether anyone else out there who has owned one or has one thinks there is anything else specific that I should be keeping my eyes open for, specifically given the 115k mileage on this one.

Tanks.

Jed

Oh and I should say, having a 10 year old S6 with 155k on it, I know there will be a need for repairs and fixes as the car gets older, and so I fully expect it will need work from this point onwards.

Thanks

Jed

Hi Jed, I love the 996 C4S I think they are a terrific car and have watched the prices free fall over the last two years. I have to say that's the cheapest one I have seen which would make me just a little cautious as most are around the 80's but it does have relatively high Km's which might explain why.

I guess if you were to proceed, as the others have recommended a good PPI would be a must.