how long does the tiptronic transmission last on 996/997 ?

acid_rider

greetings everyone

i am continuing my research into buying a old Generation I (997.1) of non-turbo Carrera, ~2004-2005 builds, the ones with infamous 'IMS bearing problems' and 'scored cylinder' problems and RMS problems (scary topics!!!!).

I prefer to buy automatic car, these cars have the 5-speed Tiptronic automatic.

Does this 5-speed Tiptronic automatic transmission suffer from any reliability or longevity issues??

How long (distance or time or both) do you expect Tiptronic automatic to last before a rebuild, on model 996/997 cars??

If the worst happens - approximately what sum of money is required to rebuild this Tiptronic transmission??

is there anything else I should be aware of when owning Tiptronic model 996/997 car?

THANKS!

• Replies 56
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm no technical expert mate, but everything I looked into when I bought mine said the Tipper was one of the best engineered components on the car.

If my info is correct I think it's a Merc box originally.

Personally I think you're possibly over- worrying. I looked at the IMS issues and bought a car, look after it well and havent looked back.

My sense of it having worked for other manufacturers over the years is that all cars have "issues", some are well publicised some not. There seems to my opinion an over emohasis on the IMS weakness mainly because Porsche has had a reputation for flawless engineering. Thus, there is a tendancy to make "mountains out of molehills" and fear can spread very fast.

Looking at the pure facts shows that if you take the right precautions you will need to be very unlucky to have a failure.

+1