Backdating

LeeM

Prompted by the recent 72 for sale, I thought I'd post this if anyone was thinking of buying a cheap 911 you don't have to worry about too much, or want to backdate a car without spending a fortune. Here's my costings for a DIY project. Now before that, I've never done anything like this before to any car, not even used bog, so my process will probably be frowned upon by those who are resto experts, or have OCD with having to have everything in concourse condition.

I removed the rear bumper in about an hour, then had to cut off the rear reflector panel which is easy, though be careful to cut it straight so you don't have to dick around with a grinder (watch your fingers too, as I touched the grinder on a knuckle that didn't heal for ages. That stung a bit!) I then test fitted the new bumper, drilled coupla holes, used the Rivnut gun and bolted it on. It really is that simple, and now that I know what to do, it would take less than an hour.

Front took much longer after I'd removed the bumper and bumper shocks, then planned how I was going to attach the glass signal bezels. Being as they're crap quality, I'd say the best way is to buy a pair of earlier RS guards, or lash out nearly a grand for some steel bezels from the US when available, but even they need to be messed with to fit, plus you have to weld them on, so that was out for me.

I basically just winged it after some basic advice from a mate who had done it to his forward dated 72, yet if I can do it, anyone can if they applied themselves and just worked it out as they go like I did. I'd asked a couple of non Porsche shops what it would cost without paint but me supplying all the parts, and they were both around $6000-8000 ? Sure, you'd get a better job than mine, but that sorta coin is crazy to me.