Buying first 911

long time listener first time poster. long story short i have been looking into buying a 911 project car for a while now and im getting to a position where i might start actually going to look at stuff as funds are coming together, thats if i can find something? budget is between $5000 -10000 for a complete basket case and 10000-15000 for something slight better its all depending on the car and completeness i guess.

problem number 1 is im not sure what i want or what i should be looking for really, im a total porsche novice, currently im driving a 205 gti but want something quicker and rear wheel drive. im leaning towards something to modify as i always have modified my cars and enjoy it. having said that there seems to be a few cars out there around the 20-25k mark that arent to bad but it makes it a expensive starting point, well at least for me it does. im reasonabley handy when it comes to paint and mechanical and have plenty of backup so yes it may be the long road to buy a basket case and in the end it cost just as much if not more, but part of the fun for me is researching and chasing down the bits and being able to take my time. i would love a rsr replica