Future of Porsche and Fuels

Hello Everyone,

I am currently studying in high school, and I am doing a research project on the future of Porsche and in particular the future of the sustainability of Porsche. From my research I have discovered that Porsche are in development of synthetic fuels which could be used as an alternative to electric vehicles. Simply put, Synthetic fuels are made from using electricity to split water molecules back into its basic elements (Hydrogen and Oxygen) through a process called electrolysis. After this the captured hydrogen is mixed with carbon monoxide produced from the captured CO2 to create hydrocarbons- which are similar to the ones found in regular fossil fuels. As these have the potential to significantly reduce carbon emissions compared to the usual fossil fuels are used today, this can allow the production of combustion engines to continue without as many environmental implications.

As Porsche are soon saying goodbye to their legacy of the flat 6 combustion engine in the next decade, synthetic fuels can offer a way to keep the petrol engines alive.

As I assume you all must hold Porsche very close to your heart, I would love to hear your opinions on the future of Porsche electric and whether synthetic fuels may be a viable option.

I don't know enough of the science to comment in detail but it all seems to be sounding positive. Definitely seems to make more sense than trying to replace all ICE cars/transport with EV (and the infrastructure to match). By simply being able to transition to a synthetic fuel allows all of the current engines & infrastructure to remain and continue on. Much more environmentally friendly then having it all scrapped/demolished and completely rebuilding a new transport system for the world, but it will have to compete with the EV movement due to potentially not being as profitable. Interesting times for sure, hopefully Porsche can contribute to a workable solution.