IMSB problem or not?

Liamray

Firstly I want to say that I’m not a Porsche expert. I’ve owned my 2001 Boxster for 3yrs now, and it’s been an absolute pleasure. And whilst I am not a Porsche expert, I am a retired aircraft maintenance engineer who still loves all things mechanical, especially fast cars!

Having previously owned mainly Australian Muscle Cars, I was hesitant about buying the Porsche, especially after reading ‘forums’ that shone a light squarely on the ‘IMSB’ problem that seemed to be the archillies heal of the brand. I researched the Boxster for months and spoke to as many people as I could about the Boxster and it’s perceived problems, and I decided that based on the information that I’d gleaned from Porsche techs, mechanics and owners, I’d take a serious look at the Boxster.

I ended up buying my 2001 2.7 Tiptronic, which had 140,000kms on it, but was owned by an 80yr old gentleman who serviced it to death, and the guys age didn’t hold him back, he scared the shit out of me when he took me for a test drive, so the car wasn’t idled around the place which I was told is one of the things that kill a Porsche.

So 3yrs down the track and I get a Porsche Mechanic to carry out a major service on the Boxster (prior to this I carried out oil and filter changes every 5,000km or every 6mths). When the mechanic dropped the oil and removed the filter, he found a lot of ‘material’ in the filter (this had not occurred on any other oil / filter change). First thought was the ‘dreaded IMSB’, and there was talk of getting another engine to drop into the Boxster. Needless to say the service stopped right there and then, the mechanic put the filter back on and poured the old oil back into the engine. So now I had to make a decision regarding the future of my Boxster, rebuild or replace?