Current 996 Turbo Import Values & Gotcha's

Hi all,

I am a relative newbie on the forum and in the midst of performing due diligence on a couple of options for my first Porsche purchase.

One of the options that keeps presenting itself is the 996 turbo, and specifically I am seeing a number of them for sale currently at under $100k, mostly due to the fact they are imports.

Right now in Sydney there are examples for sale from the UK, Hong Kong and New Zealand, and I am wondering apart from the discount these cars seem to attract in comparison to their Australian delivered counterparts, what any other potential pitfalls or issues might be in purchasing an import?

As an example, here is a Hong Kong import that AH in Sydney has for sale currently:

https://www.carsales.com.au/cars/details/2004-porsche-911-turbo-996-auto-awd-my04/OAG-AD-17648274/?Cr=6

Curious to hear some thoughts here around the potential pro's and con's that a potential purchaser might want to be aware of, aside from the usual requirement for a thorough inspection and PPI.

Thanks in advance!

Nick

That seems very highly priced for an import AND an auto ...

Your biggest hurdle is going to be resale ... we don't take too kindly to them over here. Right or wrong, it's a thing ...

UK cars have the worst reputation out of all of them due to salt being used on the roads and some horror rust stories are out there ..

Be prepared to hold on to it a long time of you decide to sell .. you can buy them cheap but they also have to be sold cheap.

The import stigma seems to get thinner the older the car, but with a 996, it is definitely there ...

I personally am in the "I wouldn't buy an import" camp but others will think differently ..

6 hours ago, Dreamr said:

That seems very highly priced for an import AND an auto ...

Your biggest hurdle is going to be resale ... we don't take too kindly to them over here. Right or wrong, it's a thing ...