Classic Porsche Parts - Purchase locally or from UK/ Germany?

gronk

Hi guys,

In the process of purchasing an old P-car. Will need alot of work (money). Blown away by the amazing videos of Jeff (Home Built) and what he was able to do with his old P car. I have no real experience at all with fixing/ restoring cars but after watching his videos, definitely keen to have a crack at least on some of the stuff that he does. If I can save some money by doing some of the repairs myself then this can only be a good thing.

For those of you who do some of this stuff, as a general rule (and I appreciate that will not apply to all parts), where is the cheapest place to source P parts? Official Porsche Parts through dealer? Autohaus Hamilton? FVD? Design911? Any others?

Any local wreckers worth reaching out to?

Thanks very much,

Adrian

@gronk It depends on what parts you're needing mate.

I'd never touched any car before I backdated my SC, so it's great that you're going to have a go at it. All I say is to do your research with how to do things, and look around online with parts prices.

I used Sierra Madre in the US for some bits, as their parts prices were on par with most other suppliers, yet their transport costs were much cheaper than anyone else. Pelican Parts transport costs are ridiculous, so make sure you check delivery costs.

I used rennspd.com for fibreglass parts and some other bits and pieces, as their prices were great, as was their delivery costs from the US.

Locally, I used James at Autohaus Hamilton for my floor pans, and they were cheaper than buying from the US and delivered pretty quickly.

There's also @MFX (Home built by Jeff) who can supply parts.

58 minutes ago, LeeM said:

I don't sell anything, I just have a search engine to direct you to the best deal ;)