Wrap and PPF recommendations

twro

Hi, I am nearing purchase of a 911 and may wish to change the colour with a wrap, any suggestions for quality places in Melbourne to speak to?

Also any indications of price to fully colour wrap a 911?

Finally, I am interested in thoughts of how well a vinyl (?) wrap will protect the paintwork, compared to PPF?

Thanks!

8 minutes ago, mc968cs said:

Hmmmm…crickets…

I’m no expert on this one…. From what I’ve seen wrap is nowhere near as robust as ppf. I’ve seen people ppf their wraps.

Yep, guy down here has done that.  Those on the Oz FB groups may have seen posts of a black Cayman that has been wrapped close to Guards Red.  I asked how it had been holding up and he said he had PPF'd the front as well as the wrap, and it was holding up well in that configuration

30 minutes ago, TwoHeadsTas said:

Yep, guy down here has done that.  Those on the Oz FB groups may have seen posts of a black Cayman that has been wrapped close to Guards Red.  I asked how it had been holding up and he said he had PPF'd the front as well as the wrap, and it was holding up well in that configuration

Do you mind sharing pics of this car Pete? Curious to see what it looks like.

Air cooled or water(🤮)cooled 911? 😉

I drove a 996 a few years ago that had been wrapped in a kind of Pearl white over the original green paint, and it looked really good to me, but I'm not that fussy.

I've casually asked about wrapping my air cooled here in Adelaide before, but it seems those I asked either don't have the confidence to have a crack at it or wanted to do the job, and 3 mobs said it would be "Anywhere from $3500 to 5000 with no guarantees". 

6 hours ago, LeeM said:

Air cooled or water(🤮)cooled 911? 😉

I drove a 996 a few years ago that had been wrapped in a kind of Pearl white over the original green paint, and it looked really good to me, but I'm not that fussy.