Greetings Porsche people

Greeting to you all.

I've been driving an Lotus Elise S1 for the last 14 years, and I've finally said good bye, and put her up for sale... it's been a long time, so it's time to try and make a dream come true... Time to buy a Porsche...

Now to the hard part....

Cayman, 993, or 997 ?

I was super keen on the 993, but that's getting old, then I bounced onto the 997! what a lovely looking car!

Fantastic, then started reading up on the internet..... huh? I thought when I bought a Porsche I'll get reliability?

What's all these talk on D shape cracks on the Cayman engines? Cylinder Scoring on the 997 engines, and IMS failures?

I am not keen to take up more potentially expensive issues... considering the Elise was a "Project" car already..

So what do you guys think? Just a case of the Internet making mountains out of molehills? or real problems?

Suddenly the 993 starts to look good again! Unless those blow up too? Surely not?

And can someone please help me, where's the good Porsche workshops around Melbourne? and how much are you guys paying for insurance and who are you guys insured with?

Thanks all for help.

I look forward to starting on a journey down Porsche land.

oh and my wife thinks I have to grow some chest hairs, unbutton my shirt and have gold chains in order to drive a Porsche....

Decisions, decisions, decisions.............

Welcome aboard Orion.

Three very different beasts you have been looking at, and yes you will read and hear all sorts of things about issues surrounding the different models.

The 993s tend to need top end rebuilds at about 150Kms I hear. Something about the valve guides being made of cheese!

But, I purchased mine with 113kms on the clock and it has now ticked past 130kms. So I'm thinking about not driving it or selling it to an unsuspecting buyer for more than what I paid!!!