My first track day - can't wait

Black Pearl

Having taken possession of my 3.2 only a few months ago, I thought it was time to try my luck on a track and have signed up to participate in the PCV Winton track day on the 7th June in the Entree' class.

Is there any one else on the list planning to attend? Would be great to touch base on the day.

As it is my first time in such an event I'd welcome any advice or tips form those more experienced. 

Cheers Rob

What James said, just know if you lift in the corner your in the fence. The head needs to remain in charge, tough it out & you'll go round the corner ( goes against all the natural instincts) but that's what driver training is all about. Have a blast, enjoy your day.

No doubt others have better and more experienced suggesstions, but here is my checklist:

Car

1) check all your oil and fluids, change them if they haven't been changed for a while. I would think about bringing oil to the track as well ( you never know) your brakes will get a good workover so fresh brake fluid is not a bad idea before theday either.

2) check tyre temperature, everyone has different views on this. I reckon start with whatever your placard says and think about adding 2 psi. The main thing is making sure you have the same psi left to right.

3) remove every loose article from within the cabin of your car, lock your glovebox if it locks. You don't want things flying around.

4) remove your floor mats, they can slide and jam under your pedals

5) check the tightness of your wheel nuts, preferably with a torque wrench set to correct setting.

6) look all over your car foranything loose, flapping or God forbid leaking.

Driver

1) ankle to wrist clothing made of natural fibres

2) comfortable close fitting sneakers, i always take a spare set. Nothing worse then if your feet get wet for whatever reason and you have to drive in wet shoes. If you like track days invest in some driving shoes and gloves.

3) sunscreen, hat, jacket