Hello from the Adelaide Hills

It's the mid 80s, Adelaide, about 10 years old, sitting at the traffic lights in the back of  the family car. A silver car pulled up next to us. Didn't know exactly what it was at the time, but knew it was the the top of the tree as far as 4 wheels go.

I guess at the time I knew it was a Porsche, no idea it was a 930, Around the same time I discovered Le Mans. By that stage in life I knew somebody somewhere has to build those Le Mans cars. That's what I wanted to do, some kids wanted to be firemen, super heros and what ever it was that their dad was. All I wanted to do was build race cars.

Skip forward 25 years and more than 50 cars, I had just returned from working in Europe where I worked as a race mechanic and the search for my own 930 began. 930 was more of a dream as the budget was more like a rough SC, but in the back of my mind I always knew the narrow body would not satisfy that desire I had from the 80s.

I looked high and low for years and years, getting increasingly scared at the cost of beat up 911s. 2 years ago I started a contract that required me to drive to every corner of the state. One Monday morning I set off on the usual road trip, I drove out of my home town on my way to the south east. Passing through the very next town,still rubbing sleep from my eyes. I spot something red on the side of the road.

I think the voice in the back of my head was speechless. I pulled up across the road from a very dirty dusty unloved car that had a scrunched up piece of paper on the dash saying "For sale" By this stage the voice in the back of my head was swearing in disbelief. "930" with a phone number. This thing had literally just been pushed out of a shed to the roadside. The bald tyres were date stamped 1988.