Looking for a 911

Gsaps

hello to the forum and a thank you to Kerry for getting my membership sorted 

im looking for an air-cooled 911, I'm new to the car scene but have loved the classic 911 shape since I saw one take a corner when I was 10... and that was a while ago 

my budget is what it is, the wife would skin me alive if she knew what it was but I know that it's a modest one given the prices I've seen

I've trawled the Carsales website so know I can get something but I also know that a car bought from a form member will have a better history and will have been cherished and taken care of

coupe/targa/convertible.... has anyone got something in the 50-60 k range.

i need saving before I resort to an abomination of an American muscle car 

thanks folks

Thanks Scott, that's a lovely car and just what im after... but I'm really not sure about the LHD thing.

I took to it ok in Europe but I was driving on the right hand side and I wasn't changing to RHD all the time, I think adapting every time I drive it would be an issue

I also know that a car bought from a form member will have a better history and will have been cherished and taken care of

Hi Gsaps, welcome and good luck with joining the hunt of the other 80% ... your above words, Why would you think that?

True of some members cars that are for sale or they would sell but we are all just the general public and certainly people here own cars in various states of history / repair / beauty / maintenance , or lack of all of that. Also, most members here you will probably find, are really or reasonably honest with their intentions, descriptions and manner but like anywhere, there are the disingenuous and the odd pirates here n there and skullduggery afoot!

Buy the best you can afford.

Buying from a member means that other members probably know the car and the character.  So it is less likely to be able to hide something.  Just look at my 993 for sale.  All the old members know ALL about that one.