Headlight refurbishment -recommendations?

Jason E

23 minutes ago, Jason E said:

Need to get my headlights refurbed on the 996.  Anyone had recent experience/ recommendations/ horror stories etc????

I've tried a couple of brands, best so far has been Meguairs, particularly the spray coating put on last.  Just make sure you mask properly around the headlight and paintwork!!

Watercooled are good with being able to easily remove the headlight to do it all, not sure about air cooled as I have no knowledge whether you can easily remove the light.

I had no luck with the Meguairs kit so sent them to a professional with good results. The headlight assembley is a very easy unit to remove and the cars toolkit contains the exact tool for the job.

Did mine with various items.

The Cerakoat system has a surface oxidization remover and used that, then wet sanding (1000, 2000 & 3000), final polish with GTechniq G4 Nanotech Glass Polish (good for perspex too), cleaning with H2O and IPA before final Cerakota ceramic coating.

Came out pretty good for a few hours work.

On 26/05/2021 at 05:26, Rod C said:

I had no luck with the Meguairs kit so sent them to a professional with good results. The headlight assembley is a very easy unit to remove and the cars toolkit contains the exact tool for the job.

Was this in Sydney, Rod? If so, can you tell me who did them?

On 01/06/2021 at 05:57, Rod C said:

No sorry in Melbourne back in the days when we could wonder around free to do as we please.

i remember those days.  i reckon we'll be in lockdown for another two weeks (21 days all up), but I'm a pessimist on what they will do here.

Who did you use Rod as i may need to have the lights done on my Cayman?