No sunroof survey

911oclock

I'm no expert, but from what I understand, the delete was quite rare. It seems that all of the high fliers at the time wanted to be cool and have a sunroof.

Seems it is so rare that I have heard it called the "Sunroof delete option" ...... they are also very sought after for a number of reasons ...

1. No leaky, non working pain in the a** sunroof to fix

2. No hole in the roof = better chassis strength and less flex (especially valuable to track cars)

I'm sure others with more knowledge than me will chime in and set the record straight .....

No idea about these cars(G series)but with the 944, sunroof deletes made up less than 5% (I have read). I have also read that the less flex due to solid roof is not actually true(on 944 at least) as the amount of bracing Porsche used for the sunroof makes the sunroof models more rigid. It is my understanding that sunroof delete models were nearly all "ordered cars" and not just something picked up off the showroom floor, although obviously it is highly probable that some dealers spec'ed up cars for there show room knowing there would be demand for something not out of the box.

I like to think my car was an "ordered car" as it had not just sunroof delete but also sports seats, side protection mouldings, Fuchs(soon to be refurbished)and script interior trim. I am lead to believe this is an extremely rare combination.

BTW I contacted PCA regarding any info on the breakdown of 86 turbo 944's imported and was told no such information exists. I am not sure if this was a we can't be bothered looking response, as 944's are often not loved by some, or if it's true. I have found several sources stating only 110 were bought in and sold in 86 and 87. We never got the 87 dual airbag/abs model. The next batch were 88's.

Edited by cyberpunky

2. No hole in the roof = better chassis strength and less flex (especially valuable to track cars)