Porsche tribe gesture

Hi all,

I grew up with a dad that was mad for Renault cars.  Don't ask me why.  My father was strange.  Nonetheless I do remember clearly as a kid the fact that every time he drove past another Renault driver they would quietly wave at one another.  Seemed like a cool thing to me at the time, given there weren't too many Renaults on the road. 

I've been driving Porsche cars for close to 10 years now.  Thought that maybe this wave protocol might also transfer to the Porsche tribe.  Without fail I wave at every Porsche driver I drive past, whether they be in a rear engined, mid engined, transaxle or SUV Porsche.  In all that time I've had 2 people wave back. 

Sounds pathetic but I'd love a secret signal for Porsche drivers to acknowledge one another. 

Any one got any ideas?  

Dave , the topic has been discussed here before from time to time. Generally speaking , modern Porsche drivers will ignore you . Same situation goes for other brands, including Land Rovers.

Good luck getting any response from a KN driver! They are mostly on the phone or shouting at rugrats or watching the 3 storey motorhome wiggling behind..

Classic Renault drivers will wave. Quite madly in fact , but a wave's a wave.

Funny you mention Highwau patrol. We hired a new 4S for a week from the Porsche museum in stuttgart. Got pulled over by the highway patrol and was initially worried.  Turned out he was a Porsche tragic and wanted to have a look at the interior and hear the new turbo charged engine. Big relief!!!

I get waves and give the wave to the Porsche sports car owners eg 911 ,,Boxster and Cayman ,,,there is also a local fellow with Beetle we always wave  ........never bother with the SUV ,s ,,the soccer mums seem to be oblivious to every thing but them selves and or want to race every on to the playing field or shops .........:P