1974 Targa

Hi all,

Just came across the forum and thought I'd introduce myself.

My name is Eoghan (awkward Gaelic spelling of 'Owen') and I'm an Irish expat living in Melbourne for the past three years. I'm a diehard German car enthusiast and still moderate Autostadt.ie, Ireland's leading German car forum.

My background is all VWs but last weekend a lifelong dream became a reality and I purchased a 1974 911 Targa. Needless to say, I'm ecstatic and can't wait to pick it up. I've attached the one good snap I have of it.

Looking forward to having a look around the forum and hopefully attending some meets/cars and coffees around Melbourne in the coming months.

Eoghan

11846515_10153635266456995_5658503071240716405_n.jpg

• Replies 160
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Thanks for the warm welcome.

Car looks good.. I dont remember seeing it mentioned on the forum here.. 

Congrats and tell us all about it!

The car was sold to Hyde Park in 1974 and later exported to Australia in 1976 where it has been since. It comes with a lot of history and receipts from the early 1980s through to this month. The gentleman it was being sold on behalf of is unfortunately losing his eyesight so is going through his bucket list of cars and traveling. Next up for him is a Corvette, to be followed by a Healey, I believe.

It started on the button from cold and ticked over nicely. When I got it out on the road I knew I wasn't leaving without it. It pulled strong and handled like it was on rails. When I got back to the garage it was put up on a lift for me to have a good look. No signs of rust in the kidney bowls or oil leaking and the suspension had been upgraded to Koni. Jackpot!

At some stage the car has been resprayed to a good standard, as well as a whale tail being retrofitted along with newer wing mirrors. The original Cookie Cutters have also been replaced with staggered 16" Fuchs finished in black with a polished lip.