1967 912/6 - time to bite the bullet SOLD

Price Adjustment

Hi everyone,

I’m putting my ‘67 Tangerine Dream on the market.  As it happens, the Krautrock band of the same name was also founded that year.  Fun fact.

So, what’s the car got that makes it possibly the rarest 912 I’ve seen for a while?

Well, for a car that I’m sure is factory stock, it’s got loads of features that only saw the light of day many years later.  Trust me here, I’m a lawyer ...

The following is not definitive but what I can remember:-

Body

Australian delivered 912.  Later rear quarters as it’s had the longer wheelbase upgrade.  GRP rear and front bar.  I have the metal bits for the rear.

Paint in good order but not perfect as you’d expect from a factory test mule.  Not a 20 footer but will have some Skunkwerks love before the new test pilot takes delivery.  Rust?  NFI but probably some somewhere.  It’s an old 912/911 ...

Has rare yellow fog lamps.  Off the Kombi they must have used back in the day to tow it around. The pics have it fitted with the roof rack. It’s a later Rennline version but apparently made in the same factory by the grandson of the original designer using tools salvaged from a Soviet era MiG factory.  Worth buying the car just for that.  

Engine

It has a 2.7 on genuine Weber’s with an MSD control unit.  Strong, smooth and well built. A little like it’s current owner only better.  OK, I’m not like that at all but the engine is a cracker. Not sure of the type of cams it runs but the engine delivers around 245 BHP according to my ArseDyno 2020.  OK, I have a sheet on file that I remember shows that.  Has headers and twin pea shooter exhaust. No heater.  But see below under “interior” for the solution.

Gearbox

Stock 915 from an 84 3.2.  Standard ratios. New clutch and pressure plate.

Brakes 

The brakes are 2.7 Carrera.  Calipers all recently rebuilt with new pads (Pagid).  It has has braided lines. Discs are ventilated. 

Cooling